Gini Dietrich

11 Deadly Presentation Sins

By: Gini Dietrich | January 20, 2014 | 
77

11 Deadly Presentation SkillsBy Gini Dietrich

What do Star Trek, Steve Jobs, puppies, monkeys, and Seth Godin have in common?

They all made it into this week’s webinar, the 11 Deadly Presentation Sins: A Path to Redemption for Public Speakers with Rob Biesenbach.

We first introduced you to Rob last June through our #FollowFriday series.

If you missed that, I’ll give you a quick recap.

Rob is an actor and a Second City-trained storyteller. He worked for Ogilvy for years and went out on his own 15 years ago.

He has a book coming out – 11 Deadly Presentation Sins – which talks about how to use storytelling, acting, and good, old-fashioned preparation to engage your audience.

And we are lucky that he is joining us for our first webinar of 2014.

11 Deadly Presentation Sins

You may not give presentations in the truest sense of the word: Getting up in front of hundreds of people and talking on a subject of which you are an expert.

But, in communications, we present at least once a week, if not daily.

Rob will walk you through how to get the most out of your new business pitches, selling new programs to clients, and speaking at conferences. He’ll also help you motivate employees and rally a team.

The 11 deadly presentation sins, according to Rob, are:

  1. Failure to understand your audience
  2. A flat opening
  3. Lack of focus
  4. Bad storytelling
  5. No emotion
  6. Dull visual
  7. Low energy
  8. No interaction
  9. Misunderstanding body language
  10. Inadequate rehearsal
  11. A weak finish

But that’s not all!

He talks you through how to use just three points in every presentation, how to reinforce those points, what picture superiority affect is, and how to provide a call-to-action that isn’t sales-y (in other words, how to have a strong finish).

Webinar Details

The webinar is this Thursday, January 23, at noon ET (that’s 11 a.m. CT, 10 a.m. MT, and 9 a.m. PT, for those of you who can’t do time zones).

It is free and it’s a two-step process.

First, go to Spin Sucks Pro and click the blue “purchase” button at the bottom of the page.

Click “checkout.”

Either create a new account or login to your account.

Click “download purchase” and click the link on the confirmation page (you’ll also receive an email with this information).

Register for the webinar on that page and you’ll be good to go!

Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good. Let Rob teach you the path to redemption.

Think to yourself: What would an actor do…and let one teach you the way (no pressure, Rob).

See you on Thursday!

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, the lead blogger at Spin Sucks, and the host of Spin Sucks the podcast. She also is co-author of Marketing in the Round, co-host of Inside PR, and co-host of The Agency Leadership podcast.