Gini Dietrich

Seek or Shout: A Review

By: Gini Dietrich | May 2, 2012 | 
64

I don’t know why the new service from Cision makes me want to play hide and seek. Perhaps because it’s named Seek or Shout? It makes me all juvenile.

But the service itself is not juvenile (apparently that’s just me).

For those of you who have been in the PR industry a long time, you likely know HARO, or Help a Reporter Out, created by Peter Shankman and then sold to Vocus in 2010.

Well, now Cision has a similar service, but it’s for journalists, bloggers, and PR pros.

From their site:

Seek content, expert sources, research and other support for stories. Shout to let the community know you have a story to tell. Join Seek or Shout today and see what a difference the right connection and the right time can make.

I’ve been using it since there were only five (I made up that number, but it was very few) of us on there and it’s a great way for me to get story ideas and sources for blog posts. I also really love that I can push pitches to come through there instead of to my inbox.

For the PR pros who need extra tools in determining the best relationships to build either for your company or your clients, Seek or Shout uses the Cision database and combines it with personal preferences, most recent stories, and stories that are culminating in real time.

It also tells you about job changes, promotions, and new jobs at the media outlets. It’s come a long way since the big green books that were updated only once a year.

If you’re seeking sources or story ideas, you click the “seek” button. If you have something newsworthy to tell – a new product, campaign, or award – you click the “shout” button.

Either way, it allows you to connect directly on stories, blog posts, videos, and podcasts that are most valuable to you right at this moment.

If I’ve convinced you to at least check it out, you can do so by watching the video below (or click here and it’ll magically appear).

It’s free to join. I highly recommend you do so, no matter which side of the table you sit…or even if you sit on both sides like me.

Seek or Shout…not Hide and Seek.

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, co-author of Marketing in the Round, and co-host of Inside PR. She also is the lead blogger at Spin Sucks and is the founder of Spin Sucks Pro.

Spin Sucks in Your Inbox

Leave a Reply

64 Comments on "Seek or Shout: A Review"

avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest
jasonkonopinski
4 years 1 day ago

Oooh – a new tool! On it. :)

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @jasonkonopinski Man. You didn’t comment “responsive design.” I’m so bummed.

jasonkonopinski
4 years 1 day ago

 @ginidietrich Pbthhhhh. It wasn’t appropriate here. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Responsive design. 

HowieSPM
4 years 1 day ago

 @ginidietrich @jasonkonopinski so far the design is not responsive. But it feels soft and cuddly.

jasonkonopinski
4 years 1 day ago

 @HowieSPM  @ginidietrich It needs courting. Wine and chocolate should do the trick.  Bazinga. 

lauraclick
4 years 1 day ago

How have I never heard of this? Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to give it a look. 
 
Another similar tool that’s local in focus is Source Your City. It’s based in Nashville and I think it has expanded to Austin and SF. I hope it gains some traction. I’ve gotten some big wins in local media through it.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @lauraclick It’s brand new so don’t feel badly. I think they launched on April 19. And I haven’t heard of Source Your City…will let my team know!

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich @cision Exciting guys! cc @brandonchicago

brandonchicago
brandonchicago
4 years 1 day ago

@byron_fernandez Check it out Byron, it’s pretty sweet. You can follow me at https://t.co/4u1h04ny

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 1 day ago

@brandonchicago Not syncing my #SM accounts (mobile at the moment) 4 some reason; so tryin ta sign up w/ email. Look forward to seeing

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 1 day ago

@brandonchicago okay, bustin out the laptop. Tickled pink my Good man #SeekorShout #cision

VickiDay
VickiDay
4 years 1 day ago

Thanks for sharing 

yvettepistorio
yvettepistorio
4 years 1 day ago

Thanks so much for sharing with your community Gini!! 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @yvettepistorio You’re very welcome!

KenMueller
4 years 1 day ago

Interesting concept. Love sites like this. So many variations on crowdsourcing these days, and this looks like a good one. 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @KenMueller I’ll make sure they get your feedback, too.

Byron Fernandez
Byron Fernandez
4 years 1 day ago

 @ginidietrich @KenMueller >> No one wants Ken’s feedback. He continually disses GaGa, when he’s clearly a FanBoy. Loudmouths like us have already become washed up old fogies. Nyeahh. I went there. 

cision
cision
4 years 1 day ago

@rossmoulton Thanks so much Ross :)

HowieSPM
4 years 1 day ago

I am so on this since I am a semi-PR pro and semi-Blogging Pro. If I can get this working and Jugnoo I might be unstoppable.
 
What?
 
No I don’t need WordPress for my blog don’t even go there.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @HowieSPM YOU NEED WORDPRESS!!!

JayDolan
4 years 1 day ago

Where was this when I needed it most three weeks ago?

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @JayDolan Well, it was there. I just hadn’t written about it yet. So you can blame me.

HowieSPM
4 years 1 day ago

 @ginidietrich  @JayDolan call this guy he can take you back 3 weeks http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/28/andrew-basiago-seattle-attorney-time-travels_n_1438216.html

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @HowieSPM  @JayDolan I am going to call that guy! Lottery here I come!

Byron Fernandez
Byron Fernandez
4 years 1 day ago

 @ginidietrich @JayDolan  This is Fantastic Gini. @JayDolan — will your Kitten be making an appearance? Shouting at her Now…

prajaniati
4 years 1 day ago

Nice article, thanks for the information.
 
Anna @ http://rentalmobil911.webs.com

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 1 day ago

@nspears13 Thanks for the mention, Nicole! Hope to see you around the community.

MarkCRobins
4 years 1 day ago

Great find and timely Gini thank you again. You are always on top of what is needed to succeed.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @MarkCRobins You know what else is needed to succeed? Monkeys.

debdobson62
debdobson62
4 years 1 day ago

Great find Gini.  Just sent it to my team along with Source Your City (thank you Laura Click).  Thank you both for sharing.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @debdobson62 You’re very welcome!

SociallyGenius
4 years 1 day ago

Bwahahaha, I’m going to be king of the world with this. And I’m not even sitting at a table, per say.

Oh yeah… Responsive Design #thatisall

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @SociallyGenius LMAO!! That made me snort. HA!

cision
cision
4 years 1 day ago

@shonali Thanks Shonali :)

GrizzardComm
GrizzardComm
4 years 1 day ago

The Superhero of Content RT @ginidietrich It’s a bird! It’s a plane! No! It’s Seek or Shout, a new service from @cision http://t.co/MJytOt1e

Collectual
Collectual
4 years 1 day ago

New service from @cision called @SeekorShout. Read a solid review via @ginidietrich http://t.co/OcS14hV3

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich I’m sorry but a knee jerk reaction is ‘Oh boy, another irresistible gee gaw’

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

@JeffRice64 I’m cracking myself up

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich Ok, ok,. Is it something I said or u thought ? If me, let me know so I can use it in my new routine!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

@JeffRice64 It’s just me being a smart butt, as my mom would call me

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich I’m viewing my humor n a new light – provokism.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

@JoyFull_deb xoxo

Robb_Wexler
Robb_Wexler
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich @cision If I use “Seek and Shout” while listening to “Twist and Shout” will I explode?

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

@Robb_Wexler If you listen to Twist and Shout and play Hide and Seek, you might

Robb_Wexler
Robb_Wexler
4 years 1 day ago

@ginidietrich But if I play hide and seek AND play twist and shout they will find me to easily. <note to self: get better headphones>

stefaniehawkes
stefaniehawkes
4 years 1 day ago

Great idea!  It’s one of those ideas that’s so simple and right in your face but than someone else beats you to be punch and makes something super cool and way useful.  Did Cision develop or buy this?  

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @stefaniehawkes They developed it…it’s been in the works for a while. They beta tested it earlier this year and then launched it late last month.

JoelFortner
4 years 1 day ago

This is sweet. I wasn’t aware of it. Gonna dive into it later!  Thanks for sharing.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @JoelFortner So the guest blog post today is about pancake syrup. Before I opened it to see who wrote it, I thought it was you!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

@ehanesrn Thanks!

ehanesrn
ehanesrn
4 years 23 hours ago

@ginidietrich You’re welcome!

rachaelseda
4 years 1 day ago

Very neat. I will definitely check this out. I love getting the wheels turning for new blog post ideas!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 1 day ago

 @rachaelseda Or you could just email me and we’ll get those wheels turning. 

BrelaBranding
BrelaBranding
4 years 1 day ago

Sounds great! RT @ginidietrich There is a new service that lets journalists and PR pros work together peacefully. http://t.co/hlw7ZNRi

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 10 hours ago

@jenajean Thanks for tweeting the review, Jenifer! Look forward to interacting with you in the community.

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 5 hours ago

@mlbee Thanks for joining the #SeekOrShout community, Meredith! Let us know if you need anything.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 hours ago

@mdbarber xoxo

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
3 years 11 months ago

@mdbarber We think so, Mary. Let us know what you think!

allarminda
3 years 11 months ago

Pretty sure this might be the last ingredient for secret sauce toward blog domination. Thanks, @ginidietrich :-)
 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
3 years 11 months ago

 @allarminda Ha! I hope it is!

elliotPR
elliotPR
3 years 10 months ago

@jaykrall I get what you are doing but PRs don’t need another HARO. What abt reputation tools that help build LT relationships w/ journos?

trackback

[…] and blog reviews. We were called “the next big thing,” one of Sarah [Evans’] Faves and got a rad endorsement from Gini Dietrich. And boy, we’re pros at helping you find or source a gift […]

trackback

[…] and blog reviews. We were called “the next big thing,” one of Sarah Evans’ Faves and got a rad endorsement from Gini Dietrich. And boy, we’re pros at helping you find or source a gift […]

trackback

[…] or Shout – This is an excellent new social forum for journalists, bloggers and PR professionals. Gini did a great review of it over at Arment Dietrich earlier in the week, so kudos also to SpinSucks and Brandon Andersen, […]

wpDiscuz
[postmatic_subscribe_widget]