Gini Dietrich

Seek or Shout: A Review

By: Gini Dietrich | May 2, 2012 | 
64

I don’t know why the new service from Cision makes me want to play hide and seek. Perhaps because it’s named Seek or Shout? It makes me all juvenile.

But the service itself is not juvenile (apparently that’s just me).

For those of you who have been in the PR industry a long time, you likely know HARO, or Help a Reporter Out, created by Peter Shankman and then sold to Vocus in 2010.

Well, now Cision has a similar service, but it’s for journalists, bloggers, and PR pros.

From their site:

Seek content, expert sources, research and other support for stories. Shout to let the community know you have a story to tell. Join Seek or Shout today and see what a difference the right connection and the right time can make.

I’ve been using it since there were only five (I made up that number, but it was very few) of us on there and it’s a great way for me to get story ideas and sources for blog posts. I also really love that I can push pitches to come through there instead of to my inbox.

For the PR pros who need extra tools in determining the best relationships to build either for your company or your clients, Seek or Shout uses the Cision database and combines it with personal preferences, most recent stories, and stories that are culminating in real time.

It also tells you about job changes, promotions, and new jobs at the media outlets. It’s come a long way since the big green books that were updated only once a year.

If you’re seeking sources or story ideas, you click the “seek” button. If you have something newsworthy to tell – a new product, campaign, or award – you click the “shout” button.

Either way, it allows you to connect directly on stories, blog posts, videos, and podcasts that are most valuable to you right at this moment.

If I’ve convinced you to at least check it out, you can do so by watching the video below (or click here and it’ll magically appear).

It’s free to join. I highly recommend you do so, no matter which side of the table you sit…or even if you sit on both sides like me.

Seek or Shout…not Hide and Seek.

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, co-author of Marketing in the Round, and co-host of Inside PR. She also is the lead blogger at Spin Sucks and is the founder of Spin Sucks Pro.

Spin Sucks in Your Inbox

Leave a Reply

64 Comments on "Seek or Shout: A Review"

avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest
jasonkonopinski
4 years 4 months ago

Oooh – a new tool! On it. 🙂

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @jasonkonopinski Man. You didn’t comment “responsive design.” I’m so bummed.

jasonkonopinski
4 years 4 months ago

 @ginidietrich Pbthhhhh. It wasn’t appropriate here. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Responsive design. 

HowieSPM
4 years 4 months ago

 @ginidietrich @jasonkonopinski so far the design is not responsive. But it feels soft and cuddly.

jasonkonopinski
4 years 4 months ago

 @HowieSPM  @ginidietrich It needs courting. Wine and chocolate should do the trick.  Bazinga. 

lauraclick
4 years 4 months ago

How have I never heard of this? Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to give it a look. 
 
Another similar tool that’s local in focus is Source Your City. It’s based in Nashville and I think it has expanded to Austin and SF. I hope it gains some traction. I’ve gotten some big wins in local media through it.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @lauraclick It’s brand new so don’t feel badly. I think they launched on April 19. And I haven’t heard of Source Your City…will let my team know!

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich @cision Exciting guys! cc @brandonchicago

brandonchicago
brandonchicago
4 years 4 months ago

@byron_fernandez Check it out Byron, it’s pretty sweet. You can follow me at https://t.co/4u1h04ny

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 4 months ago

@brandonchicago Not syncing my #SM accounts (mobile at the moment) 4 some reason; so tryin ta sign up w/ email. Look forward to seeing

byron_fernandez
byron_fernandez
4 years 4 months ago

@brandonchicago okay, bustin out the laptop. Tickled pink my Good man #SeekorShout #cision

VickiDay
VickiDay
4 years 4 months ago

Thanks for sharing 

yvettepistorio
yvettepistorio
4 years 4 months ago

Thanks so much for sharing with your community Gini!! 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @yvettepistorio You’re very welcome!

KenMueller
4 years 4 months ago

Interesting concept. Love sites like this. So many variations on crowdsourcing these days, and this looks like a good one. 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @KenMueller I’ll make sure they get your feedback, too.

Byron Fernandez
Byron Fernandez
4 years 4 months ago

 @ginidietrich @KenMueller >> No one wants Ken’s feedback. He continually disses GaGa, when he’s clearly a FanBoy. Loudmouths like us have already become washed up old fogies. Nyeahh. I went there. 

cision
cision
4 years 4 months ago

@rossmoulton Thanks so much Ross 🙂

HowieSPM
4 years 4 months ago

I am so on this since I am a semi-PR pro and semi-Blogging Pro. If I can get this working and Jugnoo I might be unstoppable.
 
What?
 
No I don’t need WordPress for my blog don’t even go there.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @HowieSPM YOU NEED WORDPRESS!!!

JayDolan
4 years 4 months ago

Where was this when I needed it most three weeks ago?

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @JayDolan Well, it was there. I just hadn’t written about it yet. So you can blame me.

HowieSPM
4 years 4 months ago

 @ginidietrich  @JayDolan call this guy he can take you back 3 weeks http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/28/andrew-basiago-seattle-attorney-time-travels_n_1438216.html

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @HowieSPM  @JayDolan I am going to call that guy! Lottery here I come!

Byron Fernandez
Byron Fernandez
4 years 4 months ago

 @ginidietrich @JayDolan  This is Fantastic Gini. @JayDolan — will your Kitten be making an appearance? Shouting at her Now…

prajaniati
4 years 4 months ago

Nice article, thanks for the information.
 
Anna @ http://rentalmobil911.webs.com

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 4 months ago

@nspears13 Thanks for the mention, Nicole! Hope to see you around the community.

MarkCRobins
4 years 4 months ago

Great find and timely Gini thank you again. You are always on top of what is needed to succeed.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @MarkCRobins You know what else is needed to succeed? Monkeys.

debdobson62
debdobson62
4 years 4 months ago

Great find Gini.  Just sent it to my team along with Source Your City (thank you Laura Click).  Thank you both for sharing.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @debdobson62 You’re very welcome!

SociallyGenius
4 years 4 months ago

Bwahahaha, I’m going to be king of the world with this. And I’m not even sitting at a table, per say.

Oh yeah… Responsive Design #thatisall

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @SociallyGenius LMAO!! That made me snort. HA!

cision
cision
4 years 4 months ago

@shonali Thanks Shonali 🙂

GrizzardComm
GrizzardComm
4 years 4 months ago

The Superhero of Content RT @ginidietrich It’s a bird! It’s a plane! No! It’s Seek or Shout, a new service from @cision http://t.co/MJytOt1e

Collectual
Collectual
4 years 4 months ago

New service from @cision called @SeekorShout. Read a solid review via @ginidietrich http://t.co/OcS14hV3

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich I’m sorry but a knee jerk reaction is ‘Oh boy, another irresistible gee gaw’

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@JeffRice64 I’m cracking myself up

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich Ok, ok,. Is it something I said or u thought ? If me, let me know so I can use it in my new routine!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@JeffRice64 It’s just me being a smart butt, as my mom would call me

JeffRice64
JeffRice64
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich I’m viewing my humor n a new light – provokism.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@JoyFull_deb xoxo

Robb_Wexler
Robb_Wexler
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich @cision If I use “Seek and Shout” while listening to “Twist and Shout” will I explode?

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@Robb_Wexler If you listen to Twist and Shout and play Hide and Seek, you might

Robb_Wexler
Robb_Wexler
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich But if I play hide and seek AND play twist and shout they will find me to easily. <note to self: get better headphones>

stefaniehawkes
stefaniehawkes
4 years 4 months ago

Great idea!  It’s one of those ideas that’s so simple and right in your face but than someone else beats you to be punch and makes something super cool and way useful.  Did Cision develop or buy this?  

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @stefaniehawkes They developed it…it’s been in the works for a while. They beta tested it earlier this year and then launched it late last month.

JoelFortner
4 years 4 months ago

This is sweet. I wasn’t aware of it. Gonna dive into it later!  Thanks for sharing.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @JoelFortner So the guest blog post today is about pancake syrup. Before I opened it to see who wrote it, I thought it was you!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@ehanesrn Thanks!

ehanesrn
ehanesrn
4 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich You’re welcome!

rachaelseda
4 years 4 months ago

Very neat. I will definitely check this out. I love getting the wheels turning for new blog post ideas!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @rachaelseda Or you could just email me and we’ll get those wheels turning. 

BrelaBranding
BrelaBranding
4 years 4 months ago

Sounds great! RT @ginidietrich There is a new service that lets journalists and PR pros work together peacefully. http://t.co/hlw7ZNRi

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 4 months ago

@jenajean Thanks for tweeting the review, Jenifer! Look forward to interacting with you in the community.

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 4 months ago

@mlbee Thanks for joining the #SeekOrShout community, Meredith! Let us know if you need anything.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

@mdbarber xoxo

SeekOrShout
SeekOrShout
4 years 4 months ago

@mdbarber We think so, Mary. Let us know what you think!

allarminda
4 years 4 months ago

Pretty sure this might be the last ingredient for secret sauce toward blog domination. Thanks, @ginidietrich 🙂
 

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
4 years 4 months ago

 @allarminda Ha! I hope it is!

elliotPR
elliotPR
4 years 2 months ago

@jaykrall I get what you are doing but PRs don’t need another HARO. What abt reputation tools that help build LT relationships w/ journos?

trackback

[…] and blog reviews. We were called “the next big thing,” one of Sarah [Evans’] Faves and got a rad endorsement from Gini Dietrich. And boy, we’re pros at helping you find or source a gift […]

trackback

[…] and blog reviews. We were called “the next big thing,” one of Sarah Evans’ Faves and got a rad endorsement from Gini Dietrich. And boy, we’re pros at helping you find or source a gift […]

trackback

[…] or Shout – This is an excellent new social forum for journalists, bloggers and PR professionals. Gini did a great review of it over at Arment Dietrich earlier in the week, so kudos also to SpinSucks and Brandon Andersen, […]

wpDiscuz
172 Shares
Tweet
Share
Share
+1
Pin
Email
[postmatic_subscribe_widget]