Gini Dietrich

Review of Content Marketing Measurement Platform Squeeze

By: Gini Dietrich | October 11, 2012 | 
45

I have something new for you to try!

It’s way cool and I think you’ll like it.

By way of background, I get asked to review a lot of products, books, and services. But I rarely post reviews on Spin Sucks, which goes to show you how very little I’m impressed.

But when Jodi Echakowitz asked me to check out Squeeze, I promised her I would, but that I would only do a review if I love it.

And love it I do. Very, very much.

What is Squeeze?

Squeeze is a Sequentia product and the way they describe it is as:

A new content marketing measurement platform designed to help marketers make better decisions, optimize their budgets, and deliver greater results.

I know, I know. It doesn’t tell you much. Another marketing measurement platform? Oh brother.

I wouldn’t call it a measurement platform, from a dollars and cents/ROI perspective.

But, boy oh boy, is it cool!

How Does it Work?

You can squeeze links for any of your content, as well as forms.

Let’s say you have a white paper download area on yours or a client’s website and you are sending out a new newsletter this month.

You take the URL to that specific download form, paste it into Squeeze, squeeze it, and get a script that you then add to your content management system.

Then, when you share the form in your newsletter via email or the social networks, it tallies where your visitors are coming from in very pretty graphs.

As well, if you have content you want to squeeze (I’ve been doing our blog posts once a day on there for a week), it tells you which content and which network are most popular, what time of day works best for you, and which days of the week.

It’s not an aggregation of content across the web. It’s specific to what you’re creating and distributing.

Spin Sucks Stats

I had some pretty big surprises, when it came to what Squeeze showed me.

If you asked me, based on Google analytics alone, which days of the week and times are most popular for our content, I would have said Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays from 7 a.m.-9 a.m. CT and from 9 p.m.-11 p.m. CT.

And that is true, when you combine search and direct traffic.

But, for the social networks alone, it’s not the case at all.

Take a look:

In the past week, we’ve had 715 actions on the social networks and (no surprise) Twitter is the biggest driver of traffic.

As well, the blog post I wrote on Monday about whether or not you should link to your inspiration sources is the top content for the past week.

But what was shocking to me is Gin and Topics is the second most popular. Before this, I would have told you it was near the bottom, based solely on comments and social shares directly from the post.

It also shows you performance by time of day (which is different than what I show in our analytics)…

…and it shows me performance by day. It’s shocking that Fridays are our biggest day because it definitely does not align with our analytics.

By no means does this replace your analytics nor does it help you measure results, in a business sense. But it does help you understand how your content works on the social web and it’s very, very informative.

How Do I Get this Uber Cool Tool for Myself?

As it turns out, you’re in luck.

Squeeze is still in beta, so all you need to do is go to their home page and click the red “request an invite” button.

According to Jen Evans, their CEO, it takes about 48 hours to get approved and receive your login information. In other words, be patient!

And lots of new stuff is coming by year’s end, including:

  • A way to schedule your updates as they integrate with Buffer by the end of this month;
  • A small business edition;
  • An agency edition so you can manage multiple platforms; and
  • An enterprise edition.

Right now it’s the low, low cost of free so hurry up and get over there to try it out. After you have 30 days of data in there, you’ll have to upgrade.

So take advantage now. I promise you, you’ll really love it.

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, co-author of Marketing in the Round, and co-host of Inside PR. She also is the lead blogger at Spin Sucks and is the founder of Spin Sucks Pro.

Spin Sucks in Your Inbox

Leave a Reply

45 Comments on "Review of Content Marketing Measurement Platform Squeeze"

avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest
KenMueller
3 years 7 months ago

Sure, why not. I’ll give it a try.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@KenMueller You will LOVE it! And it’s free.

KenMueller
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich I LOVE FREE!!!!!!!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@KenMueller LOL!!

JodiEchakowitz
JodiEchakowitz
3 years 7 months ago

Thanks for the great review, Gini. I had a feeling that you would love Squeeze! Looking forward to seeing feedback from everyone else.

JodiEchakowitz
JodiEchakowitz
3 years 7 months ago

Thanks for the great review, Gini. I had a feeling that you would love Squeeze! Looking forward to seeing feedback from everyone else.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@JodiEchakowitz You know me well!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

Word. I’ll take it for a spin.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski I think you’ll like it. The only thing I don’t like is not being able to schedule my updates (which they’re changing) so you have to be pretty diligent about going in there and updating at different times of the day. But it’s worth it.

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich I was doing a lot of link-tracking via bit.ly, but the recent changes completely broke the functionality and usefulness of the product, not to mention that it’s all public.  This certainly shows promise. 🙂

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski I haven’t been a fan of bit.ly for a while. That is just a link shortener. What Squeeze does is give you really specific information…and, from what I can tell, it discounts the spiders, which bit.ly and the others do not. I’d rather know real people sharing my content than the robots sharing it.

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Aye, but you can see click-throughs and other metrics attached to bit.ly links.  While most people use it as a URL shortener exclusively, it can handle other stuff.  If you don’t keep bit.ly reserved for just your content, the metrics are meaningless.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski Yes, but they also count the spiders, which is my big beef with them.

bdorman264
3 years 7 months ago

It does sound pretty cool. What is even more interesting is how it provided you data on your site that you didn’t even know. So now that you have that data, do you change anything up, or is it just good to have any case you do? 
 
Maybe one of these days I will think up something cool like that, huh?……….or maybe not……….:).

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@bdorman264 I’m going to give it 30 days and then I think I will change up some things. It won’t replace my analytics, because it only measures what I’m sharing through the shortened link (not through the social share buttons on here), but it is interesting to work the two together.

ososoba
ososoba
3 years 7 months ago

Thanks for Sharing Gini,
Requested an invite already. I like the graphs, they look really cool.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@ososoba I hope you like it!

StevenInPR
StevenInPR
3 years 7 months ago

Finally a new tool worth our time. It reminds me of a better version of SocialBro for content. Thanks for sharing.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@StevenInPR You bet!

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

Oh wow. I *love* this!!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@belllindsay I’ve been posting all of our posts in there so we’ll have a really good overview in another three weeks. I’ll share the stats with you then.

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Awesome, can’t wait!

thejoshuawilner
3 years 7 months ago

I like what I hear. I am very curious to learn more first hand. On my way to make my request. Very curious to see what it says about the social web. I have been trying to take a harder look at what sort of impact Triberr has, so this should help.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@thejoshuawilner I don’t know that it’ll help you with Triberr because it tracks the shortened links it creates, which you can’t use in Triberr. That feeds from your RSS.

barrettrossie
3 years 7 months ago

I’m a little naive about analytics. So here are some naive questions.
 
Is it fair to day that Squeeze gives you a more granular view of certain data than Google Analytics? It’s not giving conflicting info, is it? And does Squeeze have its own method for gathering raw data, or does it draw from Google Analytics?

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago
@barrettrossie It’s not conflicting, no. It gives you stats only on where you share their shortened link on the social networks. So, for instance, I haven’t used the link on Google+ or LinkedIn and on Facebook only twice, so it makes sense it shows Twitter is our most popular channel. Where I was really surprised is how many people share Gin and Topics on the social networks. But where I think it breaks down is people are RTing it, which is great, but they’re not clicking on the link, which I can tell through my analytics. So while that’s disappointing, it… Read more »
TaraGeissinger
TaraGeissinger
3 years 7 months ago

Well I could have told you Gin & Topics was one of MY favorite posts. 🙂 Would that have helped? LOL All kidding aside, I really like how Squeeze looks. Anything that’s going to help me gather stats is a plus in my book!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@TaraGeissinger Wait until you see the video I have for the number one spot tomorrow. I was laughing so hard, I had to use my inhaler because I was going to have an asthma attack.

Danny Brown
3 years 7 months ago

Squeeze is awesome and we’re working with them on a very cool way to create lead generation from social media, and how it affects campaigns. Stay tuned!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@Danny Brown I know! It could be a very cool collaboration!

Danny Brown
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Will keep you posted! Oh, and allenmireles , I guess… 😉

allenmireles
3 years 7 months ago

@Danny Brown  @ginidietrich Well I hope you will keep me posted! 😉

nejsnave
nejsnave
3 years 7 months ago

Hi all! Gini, thank you so much for this amazing review and thanks everyone for the comments! happy to answer any questions you may have about Squeeze and how it measures content.
 
To answer a couple of questions: we don’t draw any data from any other systems but we are planning a Google Analytics integration among others, and as Gini mentioned we will have scheduling capabilities shortly. We’re also releasing a Chrome extension early next week. Please keep the comments coming and Gini thank you again!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@nejsnave Woo hoo! It all sounds exciting!

trackback

[…] Review of Content Marketing Measurement Platform Squeeze | Spin … This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Gini Dietrich. Bookmark the permalink. […]

HughAnderson
3 years 7 months ago

Very cool, I’ll be giving it a go. Must be cool if they are getting into bed (so to speak) with Mr @Danny Brown ! And I hope this has not just used up all your “awesome tool reviews’ for the rest of the year?! 🙂

Danny Brown
3 years 7 months ago

@HughAnderson Hey now!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@Danny Brown  @HughAnderson Dude, he was totally being nice! And Hugh? I hope not, too!

patrickwagner
3 years 7 months ago

I hope I get invited – this looks like a very cool tool . They are smart to give it away for free and then build the paid components as user request or demand it. Looks like a great platform for new campaigns, testing and new comers. Can’t wait to test it out.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@patrickwagner If you requested an invite, you’ll get it by early next week. They’re being super good to Spin Sucks readers.

patrickwagner
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Awesome thanks! I feel special already – great post.

susansilver
3 years 7 months ago

Sweet, Sweet. I love playing around with new tools. I currently only use Google Analytics and my social media stats. Which are well and good, but it is still difficult to drill down to the content. You end up making assumptions that are not always correct.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@susansilver As you can tell, I made some incorrect assumptions, as well. Squeeze gives you some stats to include in your calculations. I hope you like it!

Tinu
3 years 7 months ago

I never miss Gin and Topics. Just too busy enjoying what you link to that I don’t comment. 🙂

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@Tinu Which I get…but traffic and shares show differently. It’s been a very interesting experiment.

wpDiscuz
[postmatic_subscribe_widget]