Gini Dietrich

2012 Digital Marketing Year in Review

By: Gini Dietrich | December 20, 2012 | 
75

It’s my last blog post of the year (next week we’re going to rerun some older posts) and I’m sitting in my office, in the dark, listening to the rain pound against the windows, trying to decide what to write about.

Yes, rain. I still haven’t gotten my beloved snow a mere five days before Christmas. There wasn’t even any snow in Utah this past weekend. I don’t like Global Warming.

But, as I write, guided only by the light of my laptop, I’m forced to think about this year and what’s to come in 2013.

Compared to last year, this year was a breeze. Geoff Livingston and I had Marketing in the Round come out, we went on book tour, I supplemented that with my regular speaking, the Arment Dietrich business grew 200 percent, I hired some amazingly talented people in Yvette Pistorio, Allen Mireles, and Lindsay Bell, and we began to outline what a performance-based model looks like, which we’re beta testing with two clients next year.

I’ll tell you what: It’s a lot more fun to run a business that is growing and is goal-focused than one that is barely surviving. 

Year in Review

Of course, there was a lot that went on online this year.

Pinterest gained in popularity. So did Instagram (and then they changed their terms of service and everyone freaked out – you can watch my video about it here).

Google+ introduced Communities and Twitter shut down its API, preventing the very companies that helped it grow from using the social network (not that I have an opinion on it).

The Cloud gained even more popularity and businesses began to consider virtual workers, even testing it out a couple of times a week.

And, as I’ve traveled the world speaking to different organizations, I’ve seen an amazing thing happen. Business leaders went from, “Oh this social media thing is a fad and I don’t have to worry about it” to “Holy crap! I have to figure this thing out.”

It’s been really fun to watch and even more fun to be a part of their learning.

The Big 2013

Assuming we don’t all die tomorrow, I’m looking forward to doubling our growth and adding at least two more full-time professionals next year.

I also (big drumroll, please) am going to write Spin Sucks, the book.

Patti Knight has promised me I’m only going to make one trip each month (I did 63 this year) and my big goal is to spend a lot more time with my team, mentoring and coaching them toward their very aggressive goals I made them each write.

As for this crazy world we call the web, I wrote my predictions yesterday (though lots of people hope I’m wrong about QR codes). But I also see a big shift toward cloud-based, virtual offices where people use their own technology and companies have to figure out how to support them, keep the organization’s information safe, and remain productive.

Change is happening quickly and it’s everything we can do to keep up. But it’s an exciting time to run a business and I’m more excited for 2013 than I was for 2012.

Here’s to a safe and happy holiday season for each and every one of you. Come back relaxed, refreshed, and ready to kill it next year!

Oh…and…if we all die tomorrow, it sure was a pleasure getting to know some of you through the comments here, your emails, your LinkedIn messages, your Facebook messages, your tweets, your phone calls, and at events.

Happy Holidays!

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, co-author of Marketing in the Round, and co-host of Inside PR. She also is the lead blogger at Spin Sucks and is the founder of Spin Sucks Pro.

Spin Sucks in Your Inbox

Leave a Reply

75 Comments on "2012 Digital Marketing Year in Review"

avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest
KenMueller
3 years 7 months ago

And one of those trips better be in this direction.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@KenMueller I don’t know where I’m going next year. I think Miami is in January. Ohhhhh! Miami is in January!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  Lisa and the Wonderpup would love to see you. I’ll cook. 🙂

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski I don’t know that I have anything scheduled that way. I only know where I have to be today.

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @KenMueller yes Miami is in January 🙂

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

DON’T DIE!!!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@belllindsay We might ALL die. I have no say in the end of the world.

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Surely you do.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@belllindsay I can’t even get it to snow here. I don’t think I do.

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

It really has been an amazing year!  Have a happy holiday ALL and let’s kick some butt in 2013!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@PattiRoseKnight Thanks for sticking through it all with me! xoxo

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich We’ve only just begun my friend 🙂

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@PattiRoseKnight  @ginidietrich Preach it.

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski  @ginidietrich When I think about where we were last year at this time – some thought we might not make it but I always knew better. We have a great team and we a force to be reckoned with that is for sure.

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@PattiRoseKnight  @ginidietrich Aye – and to think, it was December of last year when I met you two lovelies in Chicago. I’m a good luck charm. 
 
Ahem.

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski  @PattiRoseKnight  @ginidietrich Oh. My. God. 😉

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@belllindsay  @PattiRoseKnight  @ginidietrich Kisses.

ElissaFreeman
ElissaFreeman
3 years 7 months ago

Happy holidays to you and your team Gini! Here’s to a wonderful 2013!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@ElissaFreeman Happy Holidays to you, my friend!

ShannonEvansSM
ShannonEvansSM
3 years 7 months ago

Congrats on your success this year Gini! I’m excited to see Spin Sucks, the book come into reality. Have a great holiday and New Year. 🙂

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@ShannonEvansSM Now that I’ve written that, I guess I have to do it.

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ShannonEvansSM I’m really excited about this book; I hope I get to proof it so i get a sneak peak 🙂

yvettepistorio
3 years 7 months ago

Spin Sucks the book…S-A-WEET!! That’s great news on top of AD growth 🙂 And we’re not dying. I’ve got way too much more to accomplish in life but we should have a Mayan party tomorrow…who’s in?

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@yvettepistorio I don’t know…I think we should drink all the wine in my house today. Just in case.

AnneReuss
AnneReuss
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @yvettepistorio Beer run for me.

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@AnneReuss  @ginidietrich  @yvettepistorio A gal after my own heart. Mmmmmm, beer!

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @yvettepistorio And this is why I LOVE YOU!! Last day of the world – DRINK WINE!  I love it!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

2013 is already looking like it’s going to be a darn good year – and I’m very excited to see what lies around the bend.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski With all these acquisitions, it’s not just a good year for us!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich Seriously. @danieleagee and I are working hard to get The Wandering Moleskine site up and running early in 2013.  So excited to launch that project.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski  @danieleagee You’re also working hard on cigar recommendations.

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @danieleagee Problem?

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski  @danieleagee Chainsaw!

AnneReuss
AnneReuss
3 years 7 months ago

@jasonkonopinski I’ll miss you until 2013 as well. Merry Holidays!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@AnneReuss And to you! Did your nose itch around 2:30 yesterday? markwschaefer and I were talking about you on my podcast!

geoffliving
3 years 7 months ago

Thanks for the shout out, GIni. I enjoyed writing and launching the book with you. The book was a great business tool for both of us, and I hope it continues to serve your career in 2013 and beyond.  And word is Draco may deliver some snow to you tonight.  Merry Christmas to you and Mr. D.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@geoffliving I hope Draco is right! Happy Holidays to you and your girls!

geoffliving
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich And good luck with Spin Sucks the book (would have been smart to read the whole post before blathering on about the old book).

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@geoffliving Happy Holidays Geoff and family!

sydcon_mktg
3 years 7 months ago

Congrats on a great 2012 & here’s to a even better 2013 – maybe we will finally be able to work together!!
 
And…are you ready for the snow?!?!?! Remember if you dont get much in the city, hop on metra & come out, I will pick up at the train. You could have snow ball fights with my kids!!! 
 
Happy Holidays to you & your staff!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@sydcon_mktg If we don’t get much in the city, I’m moving in with you.

sydcon_mktg
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich LOL come on out! They are saying 6+ here. Saying McHenry County will be one of hardest hit with 1-2 inches per hour!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@sydcon_mktg I’m going to McHenry County. You can find me and my laptop in front of a fireplace.

allenmireles
3 years 7 months ago

We aren’t dying tomorrow or any time soon. We have too much to do! Now onward, team!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@allenmireles Tell that to the Mayans!

jasonkonopinski
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @allenmireles You can’t. They’re all dead. 🙂

annelizhannan
3 years 7 months ago

What a delightful way to wrap up the year and give a slight tear to the wrapping of 2013.  You know we all like to peek at this time of year. I wish you bountiful flakes of snow for your holidays, happy reflections at the new year and glistening sunshine for your 2013 horizon.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@annelizhannan I have really loved hanging out with you on the web this year, Anneliz. Happy Holidays to you! xoxo

AnneReuss
AnneReuss
3 years 7 months ago

Now I feel sentimental. See you next year you sweet human being @ginidietrich .. Off to do my snow dance.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@AnneReuss Are you doing your snow dance?! I don’t have snow yet!

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @AnneReuss We have the poorest excuse for snow I have ever seen.  I was excited to get up and look out at it and there is hardly none!

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

*sniff* I get so emotional when I’m sick. You guys are making me verklempt over here!! I couldn’t have dreamed at the start of 2012 that I would be ending the year with the incredible team – and amazing community – at AD/Spin Sucks. I feel very blessed.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@belllindsay You probably know by now, I always get what I want. It make take longer than normal, but I do it. And I’ve wanted you on our team for a VERY long time!

TonyBennett
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich @belllindsay Charles is very proud of you Lindsay, he told me so over drinks last night. And oh Ms. I get whatever I want… Happy Holidays

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@TonyBennett @belllindsay Charles is dead.

TonyBennett
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich @belllindsay whoops, sorry, missed the internal memo on that.

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@TonyBennett  @ginidietrich  @belllindsay Way to take Charles’ name in vain Tony. Sheeesh. 😉

HughAnderson
3 years 7 months ago

Spin Sucks the book – wow – my reading list just got even longer. And I can recommend Scotland in August 🙂 . 2013 is going to be amazing so have a great break to recharge those batteries for back-to-back 200%’s!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@HughAnderson Holy heck. I can’t do 200% again next year. It’s easy when the numbers are small, but that probably won’t ever happen again.

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@ginidietrich  @HughAnderson no more 200%

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@HughAnderson I really really want to go to Scotland. @ginidietrich ……?? 🙂

JoeCardillo
3 years 7 months ago

Congrats to you & your team on a great year Gini, y’all are awesome folks and I’m sure I’m not the only one who enjoys seeing a business succeed with such sincere, smart people. 
 
One of these days I’m going to get a job doing less back end project-y stuff and more comms/marketing and then you’ll see me talking up a storm here. Watch out! 😉

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@joecardillo LOL!! I look forward to that day, Joe!

Nikki Little
3 years 7 months ago

One trip per month is MUCH more manageable! Congrats on all the growth and success this year. Wishing you the happiest of holidays!

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@Nikki Little This year was crazy with travel; I really don’t think she could take another trip like that.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@Nikki Little So much more manageable and it’ll help me reach my goal of being more available to my team.

rdopping
rdopping
3 years 7 months ago

Happy Holidays @ginidietrich It was a blast getting to know you in 2012 and thank you for your support this year. I hope you have a great holiday and get some rest. You too @belllindsay and the rest of the team out there. Cheers all!

PattiRoseKnight
PattiRoseKnight
3 years 7 months ago

@rdopping  @ginidietrich  @belllindsay Thanks the same to you and yours!

belllindsay
belllindsay
3 years 7 months ago

@rdopping  @ginidietrich You rock Ralph. Thanks so much. Best to you and your family!!

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@rdopping Happy Holidays to you, Ralph! You’ve been one of my highlights this year. Please hug your better half for me, too.

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@timbo1973 Happy Holidays to you, Tim! I didn’t realize the blog came out of your career decision. That’s really cool!

trackback
3 years 7 months ago

[…] L to R  via 1. 2. 3. Filed Under: The Find's Tagged With: an indian living in the usa blogs, An indians lifestyle […]

Adam | Customer Experience
3 years 7 months ago

Belated happy holidays G, and hope you have a great new year! It was great to see all that happened for you and the Spin Sucks team this year.
 
Looking forward to an awesome 2013! And I plan to be around more, so apologies in advance. 🙂

ginidietrich
3 years 7 months ago

@Adam | Customer Experience We were just talking about you. Were your ears burning?!?

Adam | Customer Experience
3 years 6 months ago

@ginidietrich  @Adam | Customer Experience I forgot to come back to this… Who is “we”? I am frightened. 🙂 Also, I was talking about you last week, so maybe we had that ESP thing going.

wpDiscuz
[postmatic_subscribe_widget]