Gini Dietrich

A Review of Triberr and the Spin Sucks Analytics

By: Gini Dietrich | April 12, 2011 | 
123

It’s been a month that I’ve been a member of Triberr. I’ve had lots of direct messages, emails, and Facebook messages asking what the heck it is and how I like it.

So I’m here to tell you.

For those of you who don’t know, or haven’t seen the shorted tribr link, Triberr is a way for you to retweet the work of bloggers you know and trust. According to Dino Dogan and Dan Cristo, the founders, “every time you publish a new post, everyone in your tribe will tweet it to their followers. And you do the same for everyone in your tribe.”

I’ll be honest. It felt really icky to me at first. I was automatically tweeting blog posts that I hadn’t yet read. Granted, the tweets were of people I already read and typically RT anyway, but I still hated seeing that in my stream without having read the post.

But Dino and Dan listened to their tribes and made some changes. Now the blog posts are stored in your cue and you can schedule it or delete it before it hits your stream. I like this A LOT better because that gives me time to read WTH I’m tweeting. It feels less like I don’t know what’s going on and more like I’m scheduling those tweets, just like I’ve done since I started on Twitter.

But you know what I like best about it? The stats!

Of course, you’ll say, you love stats, Gini.

It’s no secret that our goal is to drive highly engaged traffic. And lots of it. Triberr helps us do that. Extremely well.

For instance, when I compare Spin Sucks analytics from March 8-April 7 and January 8-February 7 (I didn’t compare to February because it was a short month and not a fair comparison), I found:

  • Traffic is up 59 percent
  • Pageviews are up 140 percent
  • Pages per visit are up 51 percent
  • Bounce rate is down 51 percent
  • Average time on site is up 24 percent
  • New visits are up three percent
  • Twitter referrals are up 155 percent

My own Twitter followers have increased by five percent, but I don’t think that’s Triberr because that number is consistent with the organic growth I’ve had month-by-month without the service.

Just like Livefyre, I’d like to take some credit for the content and the community, but Triberr has helped us significantly increase our goals. What I’m going to track is what happens during the next month as more people are introduced, and form an either love or hate opinion, to Triberr. That will help me completely determine if this tribal automation tool is useful or not.

But I do know I’m going to begin building my own tribes now. If one of your goals is to increase traffic and pageviews, I think it’s worth it!

About Gini Dietrich


Gini Dietrich is the founder and CEO of Arment Dietrich, an integrated marketing communications firm. She is the author of Spin Sucks, co-author of Marketing in the Round, and co-host of Inside PR. She also is the lead blogger at Spin Sucks and is the founder of Spin Sucks Pro.

Spin Sucks in Your Inbox

Leave a Reply

123 Comments on "A Review of Triberr and the Spin Sucks Analytics"

avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest
KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago
Great to hear. I have to admit, the one thing I was somewhat curious about was the same thing you felt yucky about: tweeting stuff you haven’t read yet. Curious: now that you have the chance to read them first, have there been any you have deleted and not tweeted? I’m hoping this is something I can jump on, like Livefyre, that is certainly giving me a boost, though not as large as what you are seeing. Not sure if you’ve checked it out yet, but have you seen Clicky Stats? It’s a pay thing (but very cheap…I think I… Read more »
Lori
5 years 4 months ago
Gini, Thanks, I’ve been watching for this post! The stats are interesting. I have one question. How does your “new visits” stat compares to your natural organic growth? That stat surprised me. I know pageviews are great and traffic, time on sight and pages per visit but how do you account for such a slight rise in new visits. I would have thought New Visits would be be most impacted by all the extra Tweets. It would be interesting to know why the other factors were so greatly impacted while this one was not, unless 3% is a HUGE amount… Read more »
ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller There have been a couple I have deleted, but I’d say it’s less than three percent. It takes less time to do that than to read, comment, and schedule in SocialOomph, which is what I do with those not in my tribe.

I haven’t seen Clicky Stats! You gave me a tool to check out. Thank you!

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich I think Clicky might come in it’s full version one month for free. Once you try it, you’ll see it’s worth the money. Plus, if you build sites, etc. for clients, they even have a white label option. It has even helped me find inbound links that Google Analytics and other services haven’t found. Not sure how they do it, but it works!

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago
@Lori Hi Lori! I think it really depends on your goals. Our goal is to get into the AdAge top 20 for the benefit of driving members to Spin Sucks Pro. We know that people won’t buy subscriptions unless they know us and love us. So reading and engaging with us on Spin Sucks is critical to success. That’s why it works for us. But I don’t think it would have worked early on, like we discussed last week, because we hadn’t yet built a foundation. The foundation is key. I haven’t done a complete analysis on the new visitors… Read more »
ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller COOL! Thank you!!

Sean McGinnis
5 years 4 months ago

Woot! #Thatisall

dino_dogan
dino_dogan
5 years 4 months ago
@ginidietrich@Lori I would like to speak to the New Visits quandary 🙂 I think having a 3% increase in new visits for a mature blog like spinsucks is kind of a big deal. Could it have been better? Most definitely. Gini is in my tribe on Triberr. And everyone in that tribe is already a close friend of Gini’s. In other words, Gini’s stuff was being retweeted by people who were already retweeting Gini’s stuff before Triberr. Triberr only automagicated the process leaving more time for other great things. Once Gini starts to build out her own tribes, steps out… Read more »
ShakirahDawud
5 years 4 months ago

Thanks for introducing me, Gini. I’ll have to get a look at it soon, and scrutinize the blogs I like to find ones I feel comfortable with tweeting (nearly) in the blind. I like the idea of a safet net, though. I like waiting a bit and coming back to new SM functions like this because they tend to change so rapidly as you noted. I did log in to Quora and I’m stuck, so I think I’ll come back later to see if things improve in terms of useability.

NancyD68
NancyD68
5 years 4 months ago

I have been looking at this with some interest. I am reading up on it, and going to see if I think it is a good fit for me. I am just a bit confused about all this tribe thing. Do you pick, or do you get assigned a tribe?

ShellyKramer
ShellyKramer
5 years 4 months ago
Funny, Gin, I created my own tribe a long time ago and we have grown to be a very tight group. And I didn’t need an app or separate platform to do it. Doesn’t mean this isn’t a good idea, but it’s not exactly a novel idea. The stats are nice, but if you’re watching your traffic anyway, you’d see the impact of your tribe. Not to be a Debbie Doubter, I do see why this would be appealing to some. But my point is that this is really nothing new. It just “automates” the bonds of friendship. Not bad.… Read more »
ShellyKramer
ShellyKramer
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller Ken, I’ve been using GetClicky for a few years now and love it. We also install it on all the websites we build for clients. Love it!

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

It’s interesting – I didn’t see any increase in traffic apart from an initial spike, and then it reverted back to normal. I’ve since left the initial Triberr tribe I was in, and started an individual tribe that concentrates more on bloggers I’d really be relevant to/with, so I’ll be watching that one instead.

Then again, Twitter’s always been a tertiary source of traffic for me – Google and direct (RSS, shared email links) have been far more effective. And I also use Twitterfeed, which I feel has a better solution that Triberr (currently).

wabbitoid
5 years 4 months ago
What stopped me from being an early adopter of this one (and I usually am!) is that I not only didn’t have an invite, but the “tribes” seemed to be organized around subjects. I have a general philosophy that in changing times the future belongs to people who cross disciplines and can think on their feet. I wasn’t one to be put into a box and didn’t pay a lot of attention to this particular service for that reason. Now, if someone had a real cross-discipline tribe I’d certainly join it. That’s the sort of stuff I’m always interested in.… Read more »
ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@ShakirahDawud They definitely are listening to their current members and making changes, practically, overnight. So if you prefer to wait and see how it all shakes out, I recommend doing that with Triberr.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@NancyD68 You get assigned your first tribe. But once you’re in there, you can build your own tribes. The only thing I don’t like about it is that people I’d include in my tribes are already in other tribes so I can’t have them. They call that inbreeding. Boo.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@NancyD68 You get assigned your first tribe. But once you’re in there, you can build your own tribes. The only thing I don’t like about it is that people I’d include in my tribes are already in other tribes so I can’t have them. They call that inbreeding. Boo.

dino_dogan
dino_dogan
5 years 4 months ago

wow Gini….what an amazing write up. Thank you.

dino_dogan
dino_dogan
5 years 4 months ago

wow Gini….what an amazing write up. Thank you.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@ShellyKramer Like you, I have a tribe, as well. The thing that this does is create more visibility among my organic group. I haven’t stepped out beyond my organic group yet. I won’t do that until some additional changes are made. But I’m willing to experiment and see what happens when I do that.

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich @KenMueller Woopra does the same thing – it’s an excellent platform and one I’ve been using for a while.

http://woopra.com


(plans, including free option for up to 30,000 pageviews monthly)

dino_dogan
dino_dogan
5 years 4 months ago

@ShellyKramer haha…how right you are…indeed this tribe thing has been around for a long time 🙂

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@DannyBrown I’d be interested to hear if there is a change in traffic for your bloggers tribe. And you’re right on the Twitter traffic. Just when I’d hoped to move away from it being our number one referrer, I begin to experiment with Triberr.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@wabbitoid Interesting thought on the cross-discipline tribe. I will consider that for one of mine! And, if I do it, you’ll get an invite.

C_Pappas
C_Pappas
5 years 4 months ago

I cannot keep up with all the cool stuff you find! Just yesterday I got hooked on PostRank (cannot believe I have never heard of it but then again I am a newbie blogger) and now Triberr? I have always loved the idea of tribes and the power that one can provide to you as a growing professional and your idea as a growing business. Thanks for all these great tool review posts! Jumping into the Triberr now…

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@C_Pappas I’m a junkie.

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@dino_dogan You’re welcome! It won’t come as a surprise to you that I’m a big fan of how you guys take constructive criticism and make it better. It’s my pleasure to help you grow.

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich You need someone to look at your SEO for you. Oh… wait a minute… 😉

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@DannyBrown @KenMueller I’d be interested to hear the difference between the two because, according to Clicky, they do A LOT more than Woopra.

http://getclicky.com/

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich @DannyBrown trying to check Woopra out but they are experiencing errors. Their free plan, and even the first level plan, don’t seem to have everything Clicky has.

wendyroan
wendyroan
5 years 4 months ago

Are there other analytics tools, other than Google, PostRank, and getclicky, that you would recommend?

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@ShellyKramer Yeah, I love it. When I first got it, I sat there all day staring at it updating!

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@wendyroan If you have a WordPress site, you can also get SOME useful info from WordPress Stats. I use that in conjunction with Clicky and Google and Postrank

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@DannyBrown Danny, how do you use Twitterfeed? I used to use it to push my blog out, but what does it do that compares to Triberr?

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich @KenMueller Looking at that comparison, there are some areas that I know Woopra supports that GetClicky say it doesn’t… 😉

I’ll check GetClicky out though I’m curious how they get phone information, etc, from a web visitor. Seems kinda stalkerish. 😉

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller Hi Ken,

I use it to send out posts by bloggers I read regularly and trust implicitly with content.

For example, the bonsaica account uses Twitterfeed, along with a couple of other accounts I set up to be blog respository feeds. I can choose which Twitter account it goes out; if it has an intro; hashatgs and more.

Pretty useful approach. 🙂

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@wendyroan You can also pay for stats through Ominiture and Woopra (see what @DannyBrown says below about it). I like my free tools…for now.

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@DannyBrown bonsaica ah, understood. But I guess where it varies from Triberr is that while you are sending them out, they aren’t necessarily sending yours out. Which isn’t necessarily bad, but I guess Triberr has the built in “you scratch my back, i’ll scratch your back” approach.

so many tools so little time.

richescorner
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller @ShellyKramer I have getclicky as well. It’s very addicting. I still get stuck staring at the stats all day. I also bookmarked it on my iphone so I can even check it out on the go.

rdempsey
rdempsey
5 years 4 months ago

100% agree with you Gini. And in addition to the greater reach that we get through our tribes, I’ve gotten introduced to some excellent folks such as yourself that I didn’t know before. I know, gasp, shock. But it’s true, and I’m sure you had no idea who I was.

So it’s a double win in my book.

rdempsey
rdempsey
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller @DannyBrown +1 on Twitterfeed. I also have friends who aren’t in my Triberr tribes who’s content I really like to share. TwitterFeed makes that automatic. And another cool feature is that you can see the click stats on the tweets, so you can find out what your peeps on Twitter are most enjoying, and perhaps create a follow-up post of your own.

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@rdempsey @DannyBrown good points. I used Twitterfeed only to send my own out, but moved on to better options. So now I’ll need to reevaluate.

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@KenMueller True. Though I don’t set feeds up just so others will send my stuff out anyhoo (my Ne’er Do Wells tribe on Triberr is set up to post my friend’s blog instead).

The way I use Twitterfeed is to highlight the great bloggers on my list that others might miss. Anything else is a bonus. 🙂

DannyBrown
5 years 4 months ago

@rdempsey @KenMueller Great point, completely forgot about the click stats. I know Triberr has this too, though that’s only for your content, so Twitterfeed a great fit there. 🙂

KenMueller
KenMueller
5 years 4 months ago

@DannyBrown understood. something to think about. now to see who will make the cut of posts I send out…mwahahaha

ginidietrich
ginidietrich
5 years 4 months ago

@rdempsey Do I know you?!

HAHAHAHAHA! I crack myself up.

wendyroan
wendyroan
5 years 4 months ago

Thanks, Gini and Ken.

Gini, I’m a new reader and get a lot of value from your posts. Thanks!

@ginidietrich @wendyroan @DannyBrown

wendyroan
wendyroan
5 years 4 months ago

Thanks, Gini and Ken.

Gini, I’m a new reader and get a lot of value from your posts. Thanks!

@ginidietrich @wendyroan @DannyBrown

rdempsey
rdempsey
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich it’s all in hand Gini. It is all in hand.

rdempsey
rdempsey
5 years 4 months ago

@ginidietrich it’s all in hand Gini. It is all in hand.

wpDiscuz
[postmatic_subscribe_widget]